Blog #19: Why I Changed The Title Of My Blog

Posted: December 11, 2012 in Book Project, Writing

I began this blog, originally titled MY JOURNEY ON HOW I BECAME PUBLISHED IN PRINT, just over a year ago, without a clue on what I was doing as a blogger. (Truth be told, I still don’t quite get it. That is unless a blog is a journal that is for the world to see, then I sort of get the concept. But even then, 19 posts in only 15 months? Yup, Exactly! Why? Honestly, I don’t have that much to say!) Anyway, I stayed dedicated and wrote this quote in my 1st blog posting:

“…Well, today is August 15th, 2011. I’m giving myself 1 year to get just one of my books in print in my hands. I’m re-editing all my work. Re-thinking all my ideas. Starting from scratch without drastically re-writing anything I’ve written so far…”

It’s been over a year, and no, I have not been published in print where I can hold it in my hands. It wasn’t until recently I’ve realized being in print where I can hold it in my hands wasn’t exactly what I really wanted. I wanted and still want, as every author does, is it just TO BE read!

So, I winged the idea of blogging, just to get my feet wet, so to speak. Then I realized the title didn’t work, because…well…writing isn’t a daily exciting drama filled experience that has a new adventure to share on a daily basis! It’s more like, “Okay, today I wrote 10 pages.” The next day, “I wrote 2 pages and checked my Facebook.” And the next day, “I wrote 4 pages and watched my 3 shows on the DVR.” The following day, “I didn’t write anything because of a headache.” Four days pass, and still nothing gets written until the fifth day and you’d blog, “Today I felt guilty and busted out 20 pages to make up for lost time. But 15 of those pages I’m probably going to pitch because I don’t think they’ll work. Damn whiskey…..”

Truth be told, this is usually the way it goes for writers who have kids, bills, a spouse, pets, and/or a full time-pain in the ass-work til you puke-next to nothing paying-overtime inconveniencing-dead end-9 to 5-job to support your life! (This being MY case.) So I went back through the blog postings I’ve written and realized that I write a blog post when I have something to say; whether it be advice on writing, help for other authors, jokes/comical concepts, and/or simple updates that I have to announce.

Therefore, MY JOURNEY ON HOW I BECAME PUBLISHED IN PRINT has been changed to WHEN THE INSPIRATION HITS because as a writer, this is how I function: I write when the time is right and when I’m hit by inspiration! For some goofy reason, I have a big hunch that I’m not alone in this concept!

Til Next Time,

Keep WRITING!

Leave a Reply

