Blog #18: Right Here, Write Now!

Posted: November 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

We, the greatest procrastinators, have said them all: “It’s on my To-Do list.” “I’ll get to it after my show.” “When I get off work, I’ll tackle it right away.” “This weekend, I’ll get it done.” “Yeah, I’ll be able to work on it when the kids move out or when pigs fly, which ever happens first!” “During Christmas break is when I’ll finish it.” “You find me the time, I’ll work on it then!” “I can’t finish it, my computer is messed up again, running too slow.” and the classic, “I’ll do it later because I’ll have all the free time in the world!”

And yet…there “it” sits, awaiting your attention! So, dare I ask, what is “it”? An incomplete scrapbook? A manuscript that needs editing? Due homework? A list of chores? An unsorted pile of bills on the kitchen bar? A book that isn’t finished being read? WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE WHAT “IT” IS, RIGHT?!

Right!

So, what are you waiting for? Get it done and out of the way! Why do we wait and postpone the inevitable ? Oh, but even better, when we FINALLY DO finish the project, there is a rush of self-accomplishment and pride, right? The thought of, “Yes! It’s finished! I’m awesome and they’re going to love this! or I’m awesome and that was so worth it!” Why do we torture ourselves during that time of procrastination to finish something when the results of finishing the project are satisfying? It’s like buying your favorite dessert and leaving it in the fridge for a week or two, and then, out of the blue, you finally eat it satisfyingly! Why do we put ourselves through that?

Whatever your project is, regardless of what it is, DO IT! FINISH IT! GET IT DONE! COMPLETE IT! Gain that sense of pride and accomplishment as soon as possible to keep the drive of finishing projects going. Don’t deny what you deserve: the completion of a goal with results that can, and probably will, cause you to want to do more, create more, finish more, and feel satisfied with your goal settings!

Til next time…

Leave a Reply

